June 4  This evening, the Chris Weller Quartet provided our live jazz entertainment. This was Chris' second visit to the Cottage, having brought his quintet to play for us last January. Tonight's band featured Chris Weller (tenor saxophone), Marquis Hill (trumpet), Dave Fink (bass), and Isaiah Spencer (drums). The first set commenced with the standard You Stepped Out of a Dream, followed by the ballad Darn that Dream, which showcased Marquis' fine trumpet playing. Miles's Mode featured some good interplay between Chris' tenor and Isaiah's drums, while Cole Porter's You Do Something to Me, had Chris taking over the solo duties. Dave Fink's excellent bass work was showcased on Just in Time, which brought the first half of the evening's entertainment to a close.

Dave's bass was again featured on the first number of the second session Bye Bye Blackbird. The ballad Easy to Remember featured some nice tenor by Chris, as well as a good trumpet solo by Marquis. Isaiah's drumming was highlighted on John Coltrane's Double Clutching, which brought us up to My Ideal, with great saxophone work by Chris. The final number of the evening The Inchworm was a tour de force that started with a bass/drums intro, and featured superb solos by Chris, Marquis and Isaiah, along with Dave's ultra-steady bass playing. Another great night of live jazz. Check out the photographs here.

May 28  Tonight, Society President Ian Tiele's presentation was "The Latin Bit." Ian took a look at how Latin jazz has gone from strength to strength since it first surfaced in the mid-forties. Ian explained about the different types of Latin jazz, showcasing some of its main exponents, such as Dizzy Gillespie, Stan Getz, Mongo Santamaria, and Tito Puente etc. The music we listened to included Watermelon Man, two versions of Guarachi Guara (Cal Tjader and Dizzy Gillespie), La Podrida, Mas Que Nada, and Cielito Lindo.

May 21  This evening, we welcomed the Zvonimir Tot Trio to the Cottage. The trio is made up of Zvonimir Tot (guitar), Larry Gray (bass) and Ernie Adams (drums). The evening's program, which featured mainly original compositions, started with Jungle Walk and Magician's Kingdom, with both tunes featuring Zvonimir's great guitar work and Larry Gray's fine bass playing.  Next up was the cleverly titled Mira's Do-Re-Mis, which featured a nice drum solo by Ernie Adams. Larry's bass work was again showcased on Zvonimir's ballad Jurre, while Zvonimir's guitar was featured on Philip Catherine's Dance for Victor, which brought us to the end of the first set.

The second session commenced with two more of Zvonimir's original compositions - Bruce's Dilemma and Elequent Silence, both tunes demonstrating what a tight-knit unit this trio is, the latter number also featured some excellent bowed-bass playing from Larry. Babos and Sub Rosa, led us into Beautiful Love, which featured a solo guitar introduction by Zvonimir. The classically sounding Fugue for Mr. N. P., again featured Larry's bowed-bass and also some tasteful drumming from Ernie. The evening's entertainment came to a close with an upbeat version of Take a Closer Walk with Thee, which featured great work by all three musicians. Check out the photographs here.

May 14  Tonight, Perry Huntoon's presentation took a look at the life and career of trumpeter Bunny Berigan, who tragically died in 1942 at the age of thirty three. Among the great music that Perry played were At Your Command by Fred Rich and His Orchestra (6/15/31), Mood Hollywood by the Dorsey Brothers' Orchestra (3/14/33), Solo Hop by Glenn Miller and His Orchestra (4/25/35), Chicken and Waffles by Bunny Berigan and His Blue Boys (12/13/35), Kiss Me Again by Bunny Berigan and His Orchestra (4/10/38), Hallelujah by Tommy Dorsey and His Orchestra (6/1/40), and I Can’t Get Started by Bunny Berigan and His Orchestra (8/7/37)

Prior Diary page  Next Diary page

Add this page to your favorites.
Tell a friend about this page
SOCIETY DIARY 05/08/09 - 06/04/09
A look at the past events of the Society. For future events click here
Website designed by Ian Tiele
All photographs and other material used on this website are the property of Ian Tiele/Brookfield Jazz Society, unless stated otherwise, and no such material shall be used by any other persons, without our prior written consent.